Listowel Writers’ Week Winners

Congratulations to Sonja Ní Mhurchú, Bl. 5 and Órlaith Ní Uiginn, Bl. 1 who were prize-winners in the Listowel Writers’ Competition.  Both girls were invited with their teacher, Ms. Chapple, and their parents to the Gala Opening of the Writers’ Festival, where they shared the platform with this year’s Grand Prize novelist, Kit de Waal, shortlisted authors, Emma Donoghue, Mike McCormack and Neil Hegarty and rubbed shoulders with many of Ireland’s finest contemporary writers.  It was a night to remember for both girls and tremendous credit goes to Ms. Chapple for inspiring the girls to take to the pen!